Some Thoughts on Chris Farley and the Odinic Path

Not long ago my brother and I were talking, and the conversation somehow came around to Chris Farley. He said that it was sad the man couldn’t overcome his personal demons and died before his time. After thinking about it for a moment, I had to disagree. I said that, rather, I admired the man for living such a successful life. The reasons why I said it have to do with issues close to the heart of the Odinic path, which I why I am sharing them with you today, dear reader.

I had once seen an interview with Farley, not long before his death. In it he described how he had got into comedy: by watching a lot of John Belushi when he was a kid. He discussed Belushi’s hard partying lifestyle. He got a bit into his own personal philosophy while doing so. He said that he believed that quality of life was more important than quantity of life, and that he wanted to live and die like Belushi did: like a meteor. Burning intensely for a short period, and then burning out. Not hanging around to deal with the consequences, not having to get old, not having to ever compromise. He said that he wanted everything, all at once, and that such an intense life was worth such brevity, to him.

How many people can say that they both lived and died in the manner of their own choosing? How many people can say that they never compromised, even a little, on their dreams? Farley was a real life version of a Byronic protagonist. I say that he did exactly what he intended. He had a very successful life. I admire that, and it seems a right Odinic choice, to me.

Not that I recommend that other people do the same as Farley did. I admit that I spent my own youth that way, myself, doing any and every drug I could get my hands on, drinking whisky like it was water, and doing a whole series of risky, stupid things. I should be dead many times over. But they say the gods look after fools, drunks, and madmen, so I suppose I was triply protected. Once I realized that I had been living like that for ten years and still wasn’t dead, I decided to actually start trying to do some productive things with my life, and make something of myself. I am damn glad that I did, too. I find the life I have now infinitely more rewarding. But still, despite my more mature perspective, I cannot look at Farley, or people like him, as failures. What matters most to the Odinic way is quality of life, integrity, and the freedom to choose for yourself.

One thought on “Some Thoughts on Chris Farley and the Odinic Path

  1. thesseli says:

    I can understand what Farley meant. Personally, my biggest horror would be living too long — confined to a nursing home, succumbing to Altzheimer’s or some other debilitating disease that would set my quality of life to near-zero.

Leave a Reply

