Piety Possum Says: “F@#$% You!”

I’ve been hearing a lot of bull lately from the Righteous Radical crowd about how any display of piety or call for religious standards is some form of elitism, an example of privilege that must be eradicated. They have taken to calling anyone who believes that they should put the gods first, or have religious standards, the “Piety Posse.”
I try to put the gods first in my life. I believe that we need to have religious standards. I think that anyone who doesn’t believe in religious standards, who does not think the gods are important, is not religious. They are just playing games. They are using our gods, and our traditions, to further their own petty, mundane ends, to pursue their own political goals.
Well, I am declaring my membership in the Piety Posse. We need to have standards. The gods deserve a place of respect and honor. This is our standard:

pietyposse2

14 thoughts on “Piety Possum Says: “F@#$% You!”

  1. ganglerisgrove says:

    yep. and if having standards is elitism, so be it. We should aspire to more than jumbled mediocrity when it comes to our Gods.

  2. […] Source: Piety Possum Says: “F@#$% You!” […]

  3. Philip B says:

    Usually I ask thing on the somafera blog, but since this question ( I think ) has mostly got to do with paganism. I keep finding references to something called Havamal and I’m not 100% sure what it is. Something about Odin and runes.

  4. alex88 says:

    Sorry for posting this here, but I’ve no idea where to post it. It’s about a word (which really, really bugs me) – ODR (don’t know the original – or english – language, and accents and so on). From what I read it means something like “divine inspiration or fury”, right ? I remember old folk (from Romania) using it when aggressive animals (almost always dogs, from what I remember) would act out violently. I remember my great-grandmother (who was Serbian) using this word many, many times like “Odrrrrr!” (she seemed very serious when saying it – which always seemed scarier than the animals -, like the whole thing was something much more than it was – granted, the situation involved aggressive dogs). I don’t hear it that much anymore (few times, from middle aged people or others who grew up “the peasant way” like I did, mostly in joke). I wonder if the word survived from some other time, like many other really old words from other languages like the dacic (or is it dacian in english) language. At first it seemed unlikely, but then I remember the primitive state (which I loved, now it’s full of damn agro-fields, garbage and humans) the area I grew up in: my grandmother remembers when there were very few houses when and where she grew up (like I do where I grew up), forests around and she even saw as a child wolf once when the snows where really high. Many archaic words that I used to hear back home I don’t hear anymore. This ODR word really bugs me and I’m sorry I haven’t asked her why she used it. Any thoughts ? You have my email if so.

    • ganglerisgrove says:

      it’s from the same root as Odin’s name. Adam of Breman, a medieval monk writing about Heathen practices said “Woden, id est furor.” Odin, he is fury/frenzy. it’s literally the etymological meaning at the root of both His name and that word odhr.

      • alex88 says:

        Yeah, I read that and more. It’s why the old people in my area were using it is what I want to know. I don’t know why and I’ve no one to ask. It’s getting very annoying to me.

  5. Bjorna says:

    While I think there are some elitists in heathenry, most of those are the ones that are overly aggressive in their yelling, “you’re doing it wrong!!!!” Those are the folks I don’t like, but I Do respect the need for standards. 1) out of respect for the Gods and 2) everything needs standards. If we let heathenry out of the standards that define heathenry it will become something else entirely and need a new name. Blue is blue not orange.

Leave a Reply

